OMP

By OMP

Pretty on Pink

This damselfly was so cooperative. He posed on different petunias in different directions, and patiently waited as I squatted (then kneeled then laid down) for the shot. He was a real pleasure to work with. (View him large if you please.)

Today was the day for new and different colored dragonflies (I saw a bright green one, missed it) and even this guy is a little different than the other light blue damsels I see so frequently. He seems more lavender than blue, but I guess I'd still ID him as a male blue-fronted damselfly.

I count myself fortunate that he cooperated, as I had other plans for a blip, but they fell through - litterally. Earlier I found a spiderweb strung close to the ground in between two mounds of flowers. After watering the flowers, the beads of water on the web were beautiful. I shot tons of images but the lighting was too dim. So I needed to wait for the sun to hit it... just a few more minutes and I'd have it. Almost there... I started shooting again, 3 inches from the web, just as the sun started to light up the beads. Gorgeous! Then Riley (who had been making some noise about going in or needing attention) walked directly in front of my lens missing each flower mound, but firmly planting a paw in the middle of the web... I think someone is jealous of the time I spend behind the camera. She did it again as I was finishing up with Mr. Damsel... Walked right between my lens and my subject. Miss Riley, who is generally sweet and patient, also has a bit of drama queen in her. *eye-roll* It's not as though she doesn't get attention all day...

Anyway I'll save the wet web for another day and leave Riley inside for that one.
Have a good weekend everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.