The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Murder most foul

Clean Steve dropped me off at the house after work, and I noticed some garden debris that needed bagging. He's been working like a Trojan on the front garden for several days, and I have done the odd bit of moving stuff from A to B. As I gathered up the stuff, I noticed a bit of twisted root, and then realised what was different about the front bed.

The buddleia had gone! Leaf, root and branch! Considering it had been growing about a foot from our front window for several years, this is a considerable improvement. We have daylight now. As we overlook a bend in the road, and the path to the allotments/graveyard/woods passes close by our window, the patch of road in the front of our house is a natural place for walkers, dog walkers, neighbours, etc, so stop and have a blether, or spend hours tinkering with their cars. For this reason, I have always wanted a bit of screening while I watch Tv, but the tree was ridiculous! I'm not sure about net curtains either, so for the moment I'm just enjoying hours and hours of space and light.

Except that I've been so busy cleaning the nasty smell in the fridge/my study/my entire life that I don't actually sit down in front of the TV!

An excellent programme on Radio 4 that I have just discovered was The Reason I Jump, written by a 13 year old Japanese child with severe autism. It's still on iPlayer. The boy I walk with at lunchtimes at work is a jumper. He jumps while pushing a trolley (we have a flatbed and a granny shopping trolley, but what he really really wants, but isn't allowed for his and everyone else's safety, is a full sized Tesco trolley. If you ever visited our school, you would be amazed by the number of wheelchairs ( most children have two, one for transit and one for sitting in for extended periods); standing frames; walking frames; and trolleys!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.