Look Out

By chrisf

The Ruskin Recreation Rooms

To Knutsford this afternoon, to visit a podiatrist. I have been having issues with my feet for some time. It was a useful visit, which may result in a few more visits to help with sorting things out. The tech that is available is very impressive - I thought about blipping a photo I took of a scan of my feet, but then thought that was just too personal. Even if it looked like an extraordinary piece of abstract art which I ought to frame.

Afterwards I met up with a friend for coffee/tea and a (long) chat at the Scandinavian-style coffee shop (it’s Swedish owned and is very different).

The blip is one of many extraordinary buildings in the town which were built at the behest of Richard Harding Watt at the turn of the 20th century. He wasn’t an architect, but he did have a very strong vision of what he wanted, which often had a strong Mediterranean twist. This building opened in 1902 as a recreation and reading room for the town’s people. It has subsequently been used for all sorts of things. I’m not at all sure who occupies it now, I imagine maintenance is a big challenge. Walking down the street all the buildings are Watt’s, and are an extraordinary mix of styles. I love the quirkiness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.