SpotsOfTime

By SpotsOfTime

St. Bertram’s Well

Ilam Church

https://thejournalofantiquities.com/2013/01/07/ilam-churchyard-crosses-staffordshire/

I headed off from B’s and had decided to break my journey north at Ilam, staying at the impressive YHA.

I gather Cuddy is bizarrely on his way back up to Durham for a conference next week! In the meantime I’ve swapped horses and have moved onto ‘I, Julian’. I seem to be reading again. I doubt it’ll last but it was lovely to sit reading in the lounge of the hall looking across the Italianate garden after having walked along the river and illicitly visiting the well (it was closed off due to work being done on the paths). On my way I met Ishak who had come up from Leicester to feed the birds. He said he decided to retire at 58 so that he can travel the area to feed all the birds, ducks, geese, etc.and has at last found happiness. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.