Colstro

By Colstro

Iceland Day 5

We spent all day today in and around the lagoon at Jökulsárlón. The lagoon is filled with ice calved from the glacier Breiðamerkurjökull. Ice floes drift out through the lagoon to the sea, and the incoming tide then deposits them back on to the black sandy beach.

Photogaphically, this was my most enjoyable day so far. I loved the abstract shapes of the floes, and the detailed patterns in the ice. I was spoiled for choice for my blip, but chose one which, I hope, conveys the strangeness of the scene - a large ice "rock" sitting on the characteristic black sand, with the low evening sun behind.

[Back blipped because my laptop died just before the trip - and internet access was not available at all our locations.]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.