Proud Weegie

By Shiv

Mugla

To escape the heat we headed into the hills. About an hours drive from Dalyan and over 2000 ft above the Height a Europcar can drive comfortably lies the former Ottoman Empire of Mugla (should have an accent above the 'g' but I can't find it on ipad).

Refreshingly cool and with prices a third of the tourist spots...we parked the car in the old city and stumbled onto a family celibration. The large covered area had been taken over to celebrate the poor boys circumcision. I know it has a posh name....and he was beautifully dressed in his white robes and feathers sitting on his red throne....but I knew what was coming next for him! All the men were dancing and putting money in his bowl. The music was artfully played (probably by family members) and later the same day he was paraded through the streets in a white car covered in voile and flowers. No 3 asked what it was...I said it was like a First Communion (poetic license). But nice to see something traditionally Turkish in a town without tourists.

Back home .... Hairpin bends down hill ... Camera stop and witness a bride having a photostop on the way up. The road stands sell traditional Turkish coffee and fresh OJ.

The number of scooters and motorbikes without any safety helmets is frightening. We saw one very young man driving....but his helmet was tucked under his arm while he texts at the same time!


Back home for a tea time swim. sorry I can't reply to comments We have limited wifi and killer Mosquitos. I have been told they don't like the taste of alcohol and I am doing my best to test this theory out for you.

Cooler today. Low 30s. Love to all family and friends and blip friends....I am off to refresh my glass behind a fly screen. Xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.