WhiskyFoxtrot

By WhiskyFoxtrot

Bonne Fête du Canada!

This is Canada Day! It marks Canada's birthday on 1st July 1867. Of course, Aboriginal First Nations lived in Canada for thousands of years before the white, European colonial powers showed up and acted like a bunch of brats who felt they were entitled to anything they liked, but that's another story. My father used to call me his 'Centennial Project' and because of that I feel a very close tie to the country (and I always know how old it is).

This is a statutory holiday in the True North Strong and Free and Canucks generally spend the day with friends and family, watch the RCMP Musical Ride , have a barbecue and watch the fireworks at night.

We also tend to wear temporary tattoos of maple leafs or the flag. Years ago on the west coast I found this wonderful Haida First Nation artful maple leaf as a temporary tattoo. If I ever got a tattoo for real, it would be this. Today's blip is me showing my true colours.

I suppose I'm trying to keep my fingertips on Canada.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.