Bittern off more than you can chew!

Well what a day!!

Had decided to leave going to Minsmere until today because it would be quieter. Got there and, after tea and cake (to get my energy levels up you understand), made my way to the Bittern Hide. Lo and behold there was a Bittern stood in the reeds. It had been around since about 6 this morning and it was now 11 o'clock. Then it disappeared into the reeds.

The next hour or two was spent being entertained by some fabulous aerial displays from at least 3 Hobbies. Far too quick for me to photograph clearly with my little camera but I did get this shot. They really are quite something. Don't suppose the dragonflies were that impressed though!

Then a call went up 'Bittern!' and there it was again. And so the next couple of hours were spent watching it move around the area in front of the hide. as you can see, it was fishing rather successfully (reliably informed that this is a Tench) - the best ever views I've had. At one point there was a Red Deer laying down in front of the hide, a Marsh Harrier hunting, Hobbies flying and a Bittern out in the open. Didn't know where to look!

Here are another couple of shots. The quality isn't too good but it's the best I could do with my camera.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.