Shake your tail feather

I went with Woodpeckers to her school this morning to check out the plants they have for sale to raise money for the school. Dave, who is in charge of them, came to the greenhouse and sold us some lavender, Marguerites, tomato plants and some unnamed pretty red flowers. The I headed off to the farm shop to stock up on some compost and a few more seedlings that will save a couple of weeks of the growing season. Calabrese, purple sprouting broccoli, pointed cabbages, leeks, runner beans and a few little gems have all come home with me.

It was raining steadily by the time I reached the farm shop, but I decided to have a wander in the car to Througham, a tiny hamlet just a couple of miles further on, where I first stayed when I came to work on a farm in the 1970s. I looked along the old avenue of trees leading to the elegant 17th century farm house and took some photos of some rare breed sheep that were grazing in the field. I can still vividly remember recording the dawn chorus from the top bedroom window where I stayed for four months that long hot summer, when the sheep were nearly as noisy as the birds.

Finally the heaviness of the rain forced me back to the car and I drove on to the centre of Bisley village. I wandered down the back lane to the famous Wells where the springs are sited beneath the church knoll. The village was very quiet and I could stop beside the wells to have a look at the ducks who live in a shed beside their purpose built little ponds where the springs flow out and down the valley towards the river Frome and Stroud.

It was tipping down, and thus was fine weather for ducks. This one was dipping its head under the water of the enclosed pond and then preening itself before standing tall and stretching to shake it feathers. It knew I was there and looking at it but could hardly care less. There used to be three ducks, but last time we visited I was told one had been killed. They were also all white ones. So obviously there is a bit of a turnover in ducks here, but I think they are very much loved and part of the village scene. I've blipped them before here:

The residents of Bisley's ancient springs

Heading home

Water flowing from Bisley Wells

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.