BeachesDoogie

By DoogieVanIsle

Projet Du Jour

When I was a kid I saw a surveyor working on our street, and asked him what he was doing, and he showed me how the scope worked, let me look through it at the guy waaaayyy down the road with a stick with numbers on it, and he really took the time with me to answer all my questions. I was fascinated! And I remember not being able to understand why it all was so necessary, and being frustrated by it a little. I went back the next day with more questions, and the crew had moved on…. But I found them and the guy let me look through the scope again, and re-answered all my questions. It was a great experience that has stayed with me all my life.
I got the chance to buy this working surveyors scope and tripod - just the like one I remembered. I wanted to turn it into a lamp, and it was really important to keep the scope, and keep it in a way that a person could still look through the scope (often people discard the scope to facilitate the light). I managed to keep the scope and install the light.
They say these things are just things, but Man - this thing is really bringing me a lot of joy, because of the memories I guess, and maybe because of re-purposing it and keeping it intact for it’s original purpose. I can’t stop looking at it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.