JucyLoo

By JucyLoo

Up The Duomo!!

Apologies for the finger in the middle of the view, but I only took one picture on my phone whilst AT THE TOP OF THE DUOMO and sadly, my hands were shaking so badly, my finger got in the way.
In case you weren't sure, TODAY I CLIMBED TO THE TOP OF THE DUOMO IN FLORENCE. Just to explain: I sweated and gasped and heaved my lardy bulk up 463 (that's FOUR HUNDRED AND SIXTY-THREE) steps to the top of the cupola. At the top, I was shaking so hard from exertion and terror (side note: I hate heights) that I clung to the central columns and snapped pictures one-handedly. Did I mention the 463 steps? Yeah, then we had to go back down again. ANOTHER 463 STEPS.
I crawled from the cathedral and into a coffee shop, where a half-litre of water and a strong espresso revived me.
Then we did some other stuff, I dunno, pretty churches and palazzos. And a bridge. It was great, but it wasn't four hundred and sixty three steps INTO THE SKY.

This is the worst photo I took all day, but by golly I want it on my Blipfoto. Me atop the Duomo. I am so freaking proud of myself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.