GrannyT

By GrannyT

A great day

I had a great time on my falconry day experience. I had different birds on the glove plus more fly to the glove, the smallest was a Little Owl and the largest was the above 3 year old American Bald Eagle which weighed 7.5lbs and won't be fully grown/mature for another 3 years, he was called Franklin, females are about 3lb heavier. Unfortunately the photo capturing it landing on my glove is not great but it gives an idea of it's size. We took some Harris Hawks into the field to fly which was a great experience. The vultures are great characters and make you laugh, you certainly know they have landed on the glove for the food and apparently will just keep coming back for more food. I have learnt a lot about the birds and had an amazing time, even the rain stayed away (unlike yesterday).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.