Daily Encounters

By RonaldBerry

Chief James Garfield Velarde

I was captivated, this morning, by a Native American face staring at me from a kiosk across the street. 
Somehow, he was familiar, but I could not recall his name.
When I got home, I learned the face belonged to a legendary longtime leader of the Jicarilla Apache tribe, Chief James Garfield Velarde
Chief Verlarde served as chief from 1886 to the 1940s, a time period that straddled some of the most tumultuous times in the Jicarilla Apache history
Kathy and I lived on the Jicarilla Tribe Reservation for five years serving the tribe as health care providers in their excellent clinic.
Though I never met Chief Velarde, I believe he reached out to me this morning in a friendly manner. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.