SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

Recovery

The forecast for today was good, so it was a bit of a relief when I woke first thing and it wasn't sunny. I didn't fancy a hard day in the outdoors, as I was tired from yesterday, and aware that after the sun and wind, buying sunscreen would be wise. However, the supermarket isn't open on Sundays. I was out of bread so, after coffee, I wandered over to Amarant. As well as being the town's main bakers, it has a cafe selling food like fish and chips, making it the only place like that open on a Sunday - much to our relief last summer! I've been buying their regular bread from the supermarket, and today I saw that it was "rúgbryð". In the queue I put that into Google Translate - which doesn't have Faroese, but that's another story - which found that "rúgbrauð" in Icelandic is rye bread. I'm slightly disappointed that the wonderful letter "ð" is generally silent...

Back home, I worked, and didn't regret not going out as it was cloudy and windy most of the day, except for a few sunny breaks and a heavy shower. 

So, a rather shorter entry than yesterday's saga.

The cropping may be different, but this is still the view from my front door! The long building on the right is a retirement home, and behind it is the alcohol store: Faroese planning at its best...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.