Look Out

By chrisf

Returning

I returned home today, after an excellent week in north Dorset (including excursions into neighbouring Wiltshire and Somerset). I’ve been very well looked after during my stay.

A long drive, so I stopped on the way and had a look around Tewkesbury Abbey. It was due to be destroyed on the dissolution of the monasteries in 1540, but the nave had been used as the parish church for the town for hundreds of years so upon payment of £473 (a huge sum at that time) it was saved and became the towns parish church. Thus Tewkesbury, a small town, has a cathedral sized parish church, one of the finest in England.

I lit a candle for J whilst I was there. We visited many years ago when we won a weekend in a hotel in a raffle and chose a hotel nearby as we didn’t know the area. She would have loved this last week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.