Sue's Eye View

By SuesEyeView

My Mallorquin Grandpa ...

...... HeartFreek's challenge - Older Than You.

This is Grandpa, the father of the owner of the villa we stay in each year. He is 82 years old and still works the farm daily.

I spied him taking a short breather this morning and wandered down to have a chat (well a hand signal sort of chat, as he can no longer speak after a serious fall 2 years ago when he banged his head and subsequently lost his power of speech). He patted for me to sit down next to him and we communicated through hand signals. I seriously adore this man who is so small and gentle. He dug some potatoes, pulled a couple of onions and gave me more tomatoes and cucumbers, before taking another sit down. Last week he gave me so many lemons I didn't know what to do with them all. Rather than waste them I made a couple of lemon cakes and gave one to Grandma and Grandad which they seemed to like from the smiles I received.

I indicated that I would like to take his photo and he agreed with a smile. I showed him this capture and he grinned. I've since emailed it to his son as it's a true capture of Grandpa and one for the family album I think.

He's a lovely man.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.