AlwaysWandering

By alwayswandering

Birds of a Feather? or The Mansions - Day 2

After Cooperstown, we drove to Newport, Rhode Island. We visited The Breakers and The Elms, historic mansions that are maintained by the Historic Preservation Society of Newport County. To think these were summer homes!

As we walked around the grounds, I heard a murder of crows in the trees. But when I pointed my camera skyward, I noticed that, in addition to the crows, there were two other birds sitting in the treetops. The one on the bottom left is, I'm pretty sure, a red tailed hawk. But the one in the middle on top is a mystery. The closest I can get to a guess is Northern Goshawk (note the white fluffy undertail in the closeups on the Wanderings Blog. But it's got an awfully white breast and clearly defined crest with less mask than I would have expected. Any clue?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.