CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A spider's web traps the rain droplets

Woodpeckers was running rather late this morning so I offered to drive her to her job on the far side of town. I made an espresso to gee me up just before we left as the day seemed rather drab and dank. It had been raining in the night and everywhere was damp if not actually wet.

In the front garden which we are gradually clearing and re-planting, Helena spotted a tiny spider's web nestling between an old wooden box and some bags of soil destined for the back garden and the raised beds. The web had caught the rain as tiny drops seemingly suspended above the back cloth of old bits of decaying wood, stones and some clayey soil which I had brought down from the hilltops many moons ago. The actual web seems to have disappeared from view.

When I returned I saw the water was still there, so I grabbed my camera and took a few snaps. I don't look closely enough at some of the details that surround us, so I am pleased to record this little moment which a small spider enabled by spinning a web.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.