A concrete love affair

By PhotoIain

Remembering Stewart

Remembering Stewart today on what would be his 50th birthday. And raising a glass to him and everything he was!

This picture was taken 5th September 2002 on an overnight Amtrak from New York City to Chicago. I’ll forever cherish the memories from that incredible 4 week adventure which took in NYC, Chicago, Denver, San Francisco and Hawaii.

A real watershed for me, it showed me there was a world beyond the humdrum of how life had been for me back then. Being there gave me a belief I’d not really had hitherto - I could imagine being a photographer or actually going to uni after this trip.

And you know, this is a road I saw Stoo put so many other people on - his passion, drive and determination an inspiration in itself but he always had time to share his knowledge, skills, equipment and creativity. And for that, and indeed so many other reasons, Stewart continues to be remembered fondly by all who knew him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.