Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Macro Hands

 Every spring when the insects start to make themselves known, I have get my hands back in macro-form. I suspect this is made harder by advancing age and certainly by rheumatoid arthritis.  But this year, like all the others, I feel that it's all coming back.  Today I spent a ridiculous amount of time perched precariously in the garden, waiting for something - anything - to land.  As luck would have it, this Root Maggot Fly landed on a leaf and started blowing bubbles.  He was at somewhat of an awkward angle and I couldn't really go crashing around the garden to get into better position, so I did my best and then ran two images through focus stacking in Photoshop.  Came out okay.  And adds a new species to my YardBugs list for this year.  

Tis the season for spring allergies and hubs and I are both affected.  So this afternoon there was some napping going on, which Jax and the cats enjoyed immensely.  

And tomorrow is Mother's Day here in the US.  I was certain that it was next Sunday so I arranged for something to be delivered to my mom - next week.  Oh well.  

We watched "Salmon Fishing in Yemen" last night which was an enjoyable feel-good movie.  And my day today included some plain dark chocolate.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.