weewilkie

By weewilkie

slowing down a walk

Out with the dog early this morning at Lunderston Bay and he was stopping to sniff this, prick up his ears at that. I was constantly hurrying him along and it occurred to me that I was going a walk to walk and see the sights, Archie (my Westie) was on the same walk but with a full sensory engagement with the environment. So I slowed down my walk a little, deciding that I'd take a lesson in enjoying the landscape from him but it didn't last long: my habits and routines too solid a weight to cast off so easily.
Archie was still sniffing at nettles, then wandering down a wee pathway to the beach; cocking his head at the distant shouts coming from an anchored yacht.
"Come on Archie!", I shouted back at him, "let's go!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.