JoppaStrand

By JoppaStrand

Not Portobello Beach Day 211

A hot air balloon drifts lazily across the Severn valley with the blue blur of the Brecon Beacons on the far horizon. This is a glorious English summer morn like all the ones I remember from my childhood! ( I am sure our wee grandson will have those memories too of days like this! ) I ran round the Gloucester Docks trying to imagine what it must have been like almost two hundred years ago when it was the "international airport" of its day in terms of trade and passengers. I have blipped this lightship Sula before. Today I tried to capture the sun replicating the original blaze this lantern used to flash across The Humber estuary.

I watch the news from Cairo with increasing concern and dismay : a fledgling democracy in desperate need of a calm guiding light.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.