WeeChris

By WeeChris

Blue Dragonfly

I'm allowed out without a responsible adult today.

Sheamus and I shuffled down to the river and sat for a while. I'm not normally a very patient man I admit but I can't run about yet so I simply sat. After a while the insects decided I was no threat. This blip was acquired with my telephoto lens.

I had no idea what species this was.

However, thanks to the erudition of terry115 and also Sarah Lord, I have learned that this is a Banded Demoiselle (Calopteryx splendens). Apparently Damselflies can be easily distinguished from Dragonflies because dragonflies have their wings at right angles to the body whereas when they land damselflies fold their wings along the body. This particular species of damsel flies is one of the largest and most brightly coloured.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.