Lala's Journal

By Lala

Irises and Arum Lily

A quick snap in the garden as I haven’t stopped today.
When B and I moved to our three bedroom bungalow 9 years ago we decided to use the third bedroom as a dining room. It was much used. Every daily meal and many family occasions. Since 2022 it’s been redundant except for when I’m working from home, and that’s a pain! Either leave the huge monitor, laptop out all the time, or tidy the table and lug it all out the next time. Watching Location Location the other evening, both house hunters wanted a third bedroom to use as a study. Lightbulb moment for me and decision was made. 

So, this morning, working backwards, I cleared a wardrobe, so that I could move the 11 guitars from the huge  multi stand in the dining room, put the stand up for sale and put the guitars away. Next, the large sideboard would need to go the other end of the room so I emptied cupboards and drawers and dragged it. Fitted nicely. On to the sitting room, I dragged the large pouf thing to the other end to make room for the dining table and chairs behind the sofa. In between all this I found the box of guitar making bits under the table. Put it up for sale plus a couple of jigsaws! Moved all six chairs and as I looked at the large oak table I had a sinking feeling which proved right. It was not going through the doorway! I almost cried. The whole house was a tip where I’d moved things plus a weeks worth of laundry all over the place in varying stages of wet, drying, dried etc. Thank goodness I had only put the desk and chair in the ‘basket’ on Amazon! I do think a couple of strong people will be able to tip it up and manoeuvre it through, but not me on my own. So, the table is now where the sideboard is complete with monitor, laptop and printer and we wait for James or Liam or both to help next time they are down!
I’ve also had to wash the garden furniture down as there are pigeons nesting in the wisteria and I swear they are deliberately pooping on it as they fly over! 

I will have a study to use when wfh during the school summer holidays, if not this week!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.