PeteWpics

By PeteWpics

Hornet alert

We had this lady in our conservatory today. I can tell she was a female because I Googled it. Apparently female hornets have 6 segments to their abdomen while male hornets have 7 segments, and males don't have a sting. She was probably checking the conservatory out as a possible nesting place. 
I managed to catch it with the ever present card and plastic mug and MrsW decided to kick it off the premises by carrying it down to the railway station, presumably for Network Rail to look after it. 
I watched as she carefully placed the mug and card on the ground and took the mug from the card releasing the hornet. I then watched the hornet rise into the air fly down the middle of the road until she drew level with our drive whereupon she did an abrupt left and flew down the drive towards the back of the house. 
I ran through the house to the conservatory but fortunately there was no sign of hornet in there. However the side door to the garage was open so we shall be treading carefully when we go in the garage. Still a hornet's nest in the garage is more easily accommodated than one in the conservatory! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.