Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Parts Hunting

After yesterday's disappointment with the a/c work, I had to see what I could do to ensure the car is usable over the coming days; otherwise, I have to arrange another hire car.

Incredibly, the a/c worked just fine as I drove it to the garage to have it seen by the workshop manager. Typical! I waited while they worked on it, hoping to meet with the secondhand parts man to return the compressor he sent and get my money back, but he didn't show up. So, I came back home for lunch and a rest. It turns out I need a new condenser.

My blip (taken by G) is of me meeting a man to secure a condenser.** It turns out that they need to take the old one out to make sure they give me the right one. Looking at the state of his operation, there was no way I was going to let him near the front of the car, so we headed back to the city, taking the scenic route through Nad Al Shiba (where the horse race track is). The flame trees are coming out, and Dubai looks glorious in red and orange. It is the best thing about the summer here.

We needed an ATM cash deposit machine, so we went to Bur Juman. It turns out the machine wasn't working. After more than four attempts, it kept asking for the cash to be reloaded. ARGH. Why is everything so difficult some days?

We consoled ourselves with a Costa Decaf Iced Mocha (each). Our friends Susan and Gladson, whom we hadn't seen in ages, were there.

Back home, there was still one important weekend chore left to do (the ironing), so I set to it while G prepared dinner. She had lessons with both of her Geneva kids later and didn't finish until 10:30. Yikes! It's been a challenging yet good weekend. At least we've got the car back.

** I have to say, we received a bottle of cold water each from this gentleman. It is such a kind gesture in this part of the world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.