A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Mew or Hum

A mostly drizzly day with a few light showers on this Memorial Day Monday • It’s a day my Mother and I planted flowers at my grandparents’ graves; my father, and later my brother, walked in our town’s morning parade, wearing their dress blue uniforms and gold braided hats. My father served in the Navy during WWII alongside his two younger brothers. On this day, however, his uniform was law enforcement as he was our town’s Police Chief. The regional high school marching band provided the lively music while the small parade snaked its way to each of the town’s three cemeteries. Even as a child Taps made me cry, and those gun salutes still make me cringe • A relaxing and quiet day here. Movies, puzzling, and a summery meal planned for later • Peace & Love

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.