EverydayMagic

By EverydayMagic

Gardening and photography

I like to combine the two - I told my husband I was going to do "stuff" in the front garden. He thought I meant weeding and edging the lawn, but today's "stuff" mostly involved playing with an old lens I bought on eBay for £40. It's a reflex mirror lens. The theory is it behaves like a telephoto but is a lot smaller and lighter because it has a system of mirrors inside to project the image onto the camera's sensor. In practice, it's almost impossible to focus and has a minuscule depth of field, even (or especially) when it's focused at infinity.
With patience, you can get some nice effects with it, such as this abstract-ish composition of the wall and roof of the lambing shed, with the trees in the background.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.