Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Self portrait

A damp start to the day, but I was determined to go to the Walled Garden to finish weeding my bean and pea bed. Unfortunately the council, who have been getting ready to tar the road, sorting out drains and manhole covers, and cutting out the dodgy bits, decided to begin resurfacing this morning and parked their large road sweeping lorry in our drive so I was trapped! They promised to be done in twenty minutes.

Anyway after half an hour they let me out and I spent a couple of hours weeding my veggie bed and planting the rest of my peas - my extra today.

The friend I was talking to yesterday told me that when the council decided to tar her road they came round to cut back any overhanging shrubs - there's no pavement there. Without asking, they chopped down a row of ornamental shrubs in her garden and what's worse, threw all the branches on top of her garden! Not much between the ears, some folk!

Today's Blip is another picture of my Petteria ramentacea, the so-called Dalmatian Laburnum. I Blipped it before I went on holiday when it was covered in buds, and when we came back it had a number of flowers out. I don't think it will ever be a staggeringly amazing shrub, but I like it because it's different!

Quote of the Day: 'Trees and plants always look like the people they live with, somehow.’ - Zora Neale Hurston.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.