Trixie's Adventures

By TrixieTheCollie

An early morning swim

Last year when we were in St Ives, Ann really got into sea swimming. Last year she used to get up at about 6.30am, take me for my walk, go and do a Zumba class at either 8.30/9am and then go for a swim with the girls afterwards. If Zumba wasn't on, she'd probably pop down to the beach by herself at some point in the afternoon for a swim.

She is so much more organised this year. She's joined the 'Dippers & Swimmers' group, so 'dips & swims' 3-4 times a week at 8am. The good thing about going at this time is..................... she can incorporate the morning dog walk into the morning swim. And the reason she can do this, is because I am the bestest little Collie pup in the world when she's swimming. How she's trained me to become a perfect pooch, I don't know?!


We usually leave the house at about 7.30am and walk along Porthmeor Beach. We take my ball & thrower, so we play all the way along the beach. The 'Dippers & Swimmers' usually swim at Porthgwidden Beach so I have a play there until the rest of the girlies are ready. Ann doesn't need to get ready because she just wears her dry robe over her swimming costume and juststrips off when every one else is ready to get into the sea.

Today one of the other 'dippers & swimmers' had brought their very lovely Retriever, Amber, with them. Amber was a bit braver than me. She went into the sea with her owner and swam. I really, really, wish that I was brave enough to confront my fear of waves, because I know I would love swimming with Ann. Today I tried loads of times to get into the sea with Ann, but those horrid things called waves kept scaring me.

 ….............I'm ever so good though. …..........I just lie at the waters edge, guarding my ball and watching Ann. Even when other doggies come onto the beach, I don't go to play with them. My focus is on Ann at all times. Everyone comments on what a good little Collie pup I am. Ann's biggest fear, is that I'm going to go wandering off and have a poo. Lol!!! and then she'd have to get out of the sea to pick it up. Lol!

Today Ann was in the sea for 24 mins. And then we walked home via Porthmeor Beach and I got to play with my ball again. By 9am Ann feels like she's achieved something and we can get on with the rest of our day. Yay!

PS – After a pretty dull day, it looks like Mr Sunshine is coming out to play, so Ann's thinking she might have a glass of wine on her wine drinking chair. Lol! 


#livingthedream

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.