CarolineJay

By CarolineJay

TAKE OFF

I've been distracted away from Blip for the last few days by getting ready for next week away with my sisters and making sure B can manage while I'm away as his sight has deteriorated an awful lot since the last time, at the same time as the bathroom is being renovated and all the toilets replaced. The plumbers have been great - finished well within the scheduled time - but had to come back this morning to tweak the hot water pressure in the new shower and fit extractor fans which somehow got missed. It all seems to be working now and is almost the last of the big jobs we'd planned. After they went I did a few errands and fitted in half an hour walking on the beach just to unwind, though I think I wound up this flock of gulls who took off in a marked manner at my approach.

On the subject of take-off, while I've been posting my blips I've been watching the live flight track of my youngest sister's plane taking off from Dallas on the way to Heathrow. I'm glad that I pre-date all this whizzy technology and still find it amazing that I can look at a screen on my phone and see that at this very moment she's at 33000 feet over Little Rock, Arkansas, at the same time as I'm posting a photo which can be seen at once by a community of thousands of people all over the world. I don't think I could ever take it completely for granted.

I've back-blipped the last couple of days - admittedly not filled with excitement.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.