Booky Goatherd

By Booky_Goatherd

Wednesday: Greenery

This was a drive-by shot in Belmopan as I was heading back from lunch.  You’d think it was way out in the sticks but it’s actually pretty central.  

Today was a pretty full day with various meetings and budget activities.  Unfortunately I had to cancel the gym as there were a few things I really needed to do and I was behind.  I have a bizarre relationship with the gym.  I don’t love it but I’m disappointed when I can’t go as I can feel that it’s doing me good.  I’ll try and get there tomorrow.

We had a bit of excitement this evening when we had a power cut on compound and the generator didn’t kick in.  There was a citywide power outage - they’re becoming more and more common.  Some of them are intentional - Belize is currently implementing load shedding as it doesn’t have enough power. 

It relies heavily on hydro.  There hasn’t been any rain for months and a lot of the water from the reservoirs has been used to fight wildfires.  Apparently there’s enough electricity for three weeks, unless it starts to rain.

In other news, the Met Office has announced that this hurricane season is likely to be particularly intense.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.