MerlotsDad

By MerlotsDad

Shakespeare House, Grendon Underwood

At 3.30 today I was 55 years old.... yuck ! Never mind I've had a nice day .
1st thing I went to see my mum at Edgcott to collect my card my pressie & a fruit cake yum yum.

On the way home at about 2pm I called here - known locally as Shakespeare House it was formally an Inn called The Ship, where Shakespeare is reputed to have spent several nights. In fact A Midsummers Night's Dream was part written here and in the porch of Grendon Underwood Church. Grendon Wood was the setting for the story line but only small parts of those woods remain today. The House had recently been done up by a couple of chaps who had poured everything they had into it to make it a viable (top end) B & B. Unfortunately things haven't worked out & it is starting to look overgrown & is For Sale with a local agent for £800,000.

After changing this afternoon we enjoyed drinks in the garden with Nicola & Rich & then went on to enjoy a lovely meal at the pub down the road. Unfortunately mine was the only good meal - the other 3 were sent back twice & three times before the food was acceptable. It was a great shame as Nicola has booked her 30th birthday bash here & the poor meals has caused some doubt over whether she has done the right thing. Anyway as I say mine was great & we rolled in at 2100hrs having sampled the delights of the beer on offer !

Home now - Merlot is in & Peter has just called around to say Hi.

Shakespear's Relation . . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.