The Wren

By TheWren

Marsh orchid

Posting my blip late tonight I realised that I had taken very few photos today - however, I had already decided to blip this lovely orchid which I saw this morning as it will not last long in this hot weather. It was standing proudly at the side of the path with just a buttercup for company and totally in danger of being trampled on by passing dogs or horses. Yellow and purple always do it for me - opposites on the colour wheel and they just zing when seen in natural surroundings.

Well that was a match worthy of a men's final. So often by the time players reach the last match, the play has fizzled out of them and the resulting battle ends up being rather one sided and disappointing. Not today! Either man deserved to win following the excellent tennis - but I am glad it was Andy's turn at last!

After the match I turned to the garden and am beginning to notice signs that some bushes are feeling the lack of rain, which is rather unusual up here. In particular I have one blackcurrant bush which has turned up its toes - the fruit had set but subsequently dried up. Is that the result of lack of water or is it a disease? I have tried to find the answer in my gardening books but am none the wiser.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.