CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A robin getting more adventurous

I've noticed this robin around the house more and more recently. It seems to be more adventurous despite the ongoing efforts of our cat and  a neighbour's to catch small birds around the patio. Whenever I top up the sunflower seed feeder the robin arrives within seconds. It defies the general wisdom about robins not being able to eat from the feeders, and regularly lands on the little metal perches and eats from the small openings.

I caught this shot as it approached and was eyeing up the feeder, whilst keeping a healthy eye on me too. I wonder whether I might try to feed it by hand over time, as I have done with other robins many years ago. Somehow I feel it might endanger them if they get too used to human contact, and keep their eye off the natural enemy, our cat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.