Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Mixture of Woodland

A lovely sunny Friday. Partner has to go to a funeral. I am working. The sun is shining for my lunchtime walk. I walk through the woodland on the glacial erratic mound. It is quite a mixed woodland. On my left are the large trees with huge leaves that block out sunlight. Not much grows on the woodland floor here,. Remnants of the spring few-flowered leek and wild garlic are dying back. To my right is what I call the birch wood, a mix of birch, ash, larch and fir trees. Fortunately ash die back has not yet had an effect here. The sunlight reaches the woodland floor, so nettles and cow parsley flourish.

After lunch I carry on working for a wee while. Just as I finish, partner sends a text to say she is on her way home. So I wait for her so that we can go for Friday afternoon coffee and cake. Then we go for a wee walk around the park. Still sunny.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.