Roll With It

By Falmike

“Hully, Gully, Gully, Hully”

This was the chant of the Egyptian ‘magicians’ that were picked up at either end of the Suez Canal to entertain ships company’s, (crews), during the transit of the canal. I’m not sure if the practise still happens but this is the picture of ours onboard HMS Antrim in 1980.

So why a forty-four year old picture of a ‘magician’ today? Those that follow my Blip will know that Thursday is rugby club day and during the preceding months my level of frustration with the lack of volunteers, lack of progress and lack of cohesion has reached new heights.
In fifteen days we have campers arriving on site who have been promised more than they got last year for a substantial increase in pitch fees. To date virtually nothing has been completed and the hours I am spending at the club is causing friction between Mrs S and I
A magician I’m not, I’m looking forward to some days away next week, that optimism is tempered by the knowledge that it will be waiting for me when I get back

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.