fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

Some words of wisdom

Today I was at the opening of a new extension to a building.

One of the people invited to the ceremony was the Canon Graham Bettridge, now retired, but once the minister St Mary's church in Kirkby Lonsdale. I think he christened all of my first four daughters and, over the years, one way and another, I've met him many times, as well as sitting through a number of his services.

His sermons are something else, not least because they have the feel of being partly - and sometimes largely - improvised (a fact that was confirmed today!). Thus his speaking is fresh and animated, no doubt due in part to the adrenaline rush that he is getting from thinking on his feet in front of his audience.

I have to say, though, that he has always struck me as a very spiritual person. Not in a 'heavy' way but in his approach, which is the polar opposite of doctrinaire. Indeed, his Christianity seems to be the channel for his ministry rather than the defining characteristic of it.

This afternoon, I grabbed a drink when I arrived before stepping out into the sunshine to find myself standing with Graham. He was, as ever, charming and full of smiles. After we'd exchanged pleasantries he said to me "I hear that you're on your own again".

"Yes", I replied and, not particularly wanting to go into detail, continued "You know, one day I hope to be able to look back on my life and find some kind of meaningful narrative to it!"

To which the Canon replied "Nothing is wasted, Fenner, nothing is wasted."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.