PorridgeWog

By PorridgeWog

North south divide (Day 3313)

I zoomed to town this morning to collect bits for a job in Orphir. It was one of those jobs that can go really well and is quick and easy, or it can be an utter nightmare and take ages. Surprisingly I was all done in less than an hour. I had nothing else booked in for the day and headed back to Mum's to get some paperwork done.
Around noon I took Sigyn for a wander at Yesnaby. It is somewhere I haven't been for a long time and is stuffed full of memories of Dad, who loved to sketch there, and childhood memories of "exploring" with my wee brother. It also holds memories of my mate from school who has been gone nearly 11 years now. As I left the car, the strong wind blew in a very heavy shower, but it only lasted a few minutes and the for the rest of the walk it was fairly sunny. The contrast between the view south, and the sunny view north (extra) was stark.
I was a little annoyed to disturb micturating tourists huddled behind old military buildings at the car park. They had arrived on a bus tour from one of the cruise liners visiting Orkney today. Perhaps it would be better for the bus to stop at some public conveniences rather than have a ten minute stop on a barren, windswept clifftop. Perhaps I am just becoming a grumpy old man.
Back to Mum's for a late lunch, then along to the horse checks and feeds since my beautiful wife is away overseas for the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.