Still Rockin'

By RockArea

Cragside Gorge

We left Morpeth this morning and drove up to Cragside. Second visit for me but the first for Marian. We had a coffee and then Marian went round the house while I took a walk down the gorge to the powerhouse. Amazing to think it was all blasted out to ensure the water ran well to generate the electricity for the house. 

This pretty little bridge spans the Debdon Burn and after the blasting the rocks were all carefully laid to make the cascade. I could enjoy doing things like that.

It's the Wide on Wednesday challenge hosted by steveng today. His theme is Summer/Winter Scene (depending on which hemisphere you're in). I think my blip looks fairly summery in the dappled shade and if I'd taken it ten minutes later as the heavens opened it would still have looked like a British summer day!

We're now in Scotland near Edinburgh. We've just had a meal with Frances at our hotel and I think we'll soon be hitting the sack.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.