Living Geography

By geoblogs

Vice President role now official

After a morning of teaching it was down to London on the train on a muggy day. Train was on time which has become less common that it should on that line. Out to South Kensington and had a little mooch and some food before heading for the Royal Geographical Society. Checked out the Everest 24 exhibition with some excellent artefacts from the Mallory and Irvine expedition. In to the AGM of the Society (the 194th!) and at the end my name came up on the screen and my appointment was confirmed. I'll be Vice President: Education of the RGS-IBG for the next four years. I believe I'm the first Prep school teacher in nearly 200 years to hold such a role. Followed by the Awards and a few friends picking up awards, them some fizz at the Annual reception before heading for the long train and drive home. Back before midnight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.