Seeing Beyond Looking

By SandraSuisse

Is that a little smile? An adventure story!

Last night I was busy finishing off quite a pile of ironing. There were eight blouses in all and I put them on hangers and hung them in the wardrobe right away so they wouldn't crease, Then came the sheets (tricky because so big) and the pillowcases (a joy), tablecloths and tea-towels and other bits and pieces. Finished at last!

Honey usually likes to be in the same room as me, unless she's enjoying the outrdoors on the balcony. It was after 10 pm and no sign of a little cat anywhere. I called and called and shook her special treats' box, giving it a good rattle. Not a murmer! I took my big powerful torch and looked everywhere, under the bed, under the couch, on the balcony in every nook and cranny. Not the tiniest of miaows!

Oh no! Could she have finally climbed up the protective netting covering the whole length of the balcony? I grabbed the torch and went downstairs and outside, looking for a possible injured kitty below my balcony. Nope.

I saw the concierge and her husband in their garage and asked if they had seen her. The whole thing is getting stranger and stranger...  Finally, the concierge told me of a story of her sister who had mysteriously lost her cat in similar circumstances. I got an interesting clue and dashed upstairs to check!

Guess where she was? I had locked her in the wardrobe after I had hung all my blouses in there!  When I opened the doors, a sleepy Honey with big yawns and screwed up eyes against the light, jumped out with a ittle triling sound she makes in the back of her throat!  We were happy to see each other and I was especially relieved!

Look how innocent she looks in the collage I did this morning after her breakfast and time spent among the plants in our balcony garden!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.