talloplanic views

By Arell

Hiding place

In pursuit of a quiet bench Fidra and I took ourselves off to the moorings by the Almond Aqueduct (also known as Lin's Mill Aqueduct, out of shot to my left), and not far from Clifton Hall.  Here the Union Canal towards Edinburgh turns sharp left; three or four overbridges later you get to Ratho village, while five or so in the other direction gets you to Broxburn.  Fortunately I'd brought my camping chair: I found one of the benches had been set on fire and the other has subsided to a jaunty angle.  Despite this spot being bossy and bucolic and down a stony, bumpy track that is more Africa Twin than Pan European, it was also surprisingly popular with a few people fishing, though never noisy – except being somewhat under the flight path from Edinburgh Airport.  I sat in the sunshine and ate my lunch and read my book for a while, and watched a couple of narrowboats pass by with a friendly wave.  The aqueduct is worth another look: it strides over the River Almond at quite a height, and is of the same design as the great aqueduct at Slateford in Edinburgh.

Previous to such bucolia I'd gone to B&Q in search of a socket, but I should have known better.  I will order it online instead.

And subsequent to lunch I was all for going straight home because I had another headache coming on, so naturally, I didn't.  I went to the plane spotters' mound at the airport and watched the planes taking off for a while.  It was breezy but pleasant with it, and quite a few people were up there.  The preparations for the Royal Highland Show are also well underway at Ingliston.  Then it really was time to go home, for a lie down and some tea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.