Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

First Poppy

On the hunt for more orchids, I made an early(ish) start and drove to Sheepleas, an area of ancient woodland, chalk grassland managed by the Surrey Wildlife Trust and renown for its wild-flower displays.  There were plenty of orchids to be seen though I thought the ones at Savill Garden a couple of days ago were more photogenic.

I spent a happy couple of hours there before heading a few miles down the road to the National Trust's Hatchlands Park and an early lunch.  Walking out into the wider estate I found more orchids and the first poppies of the year.  It was a bit breezy but I managed to catch a few still specimens, including this one.

It was then "home for tea" via a nearby supermarket for the weekly shop.  One day I'll order it in like many people nowadays, but I still prefer to pick and choose my own.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.