Over Yonder

By Stoffel

Dearly Delighted Departed

My Dear Princess and Dear Fellow,

I went into the office today and had fun with Fazzy. But I forgot to bring in the Tupperware she gave me last week so I could share my birthday dinner with Caro.

"Guess what I forgot today?" I said when I saw Fazzy.

"CHOCOLATE!!" shouted Megan.

"Okay. Guess what TWO things I forgot today?" I continued.

That was just the start. It was like that all day with her. When I got home, Caro had also had a good day. 

She'd been talking to her team about her first "transfer". This is the name they have in the funeral business for transporting a body to the home.

"I really enjoyed it!" she beamed at the rest of her team. 

Then she realised what she had said and caught herself. "I mean. Apart from the dead lady and the grieving relatives," she added. 

"It's a good thing I was wearing a mask," she continued. "Or they might have seen me smiling."

It is not that Caro is ghoulish. Not at all. It's just that she's found a job that really helps people. And she's good at it. And she's good with people too. She spoke to the grieving daughter and assured her that her mother would be given the utmost care. 

I love that she's found a job that makes her happy. That gives her a sense of meaning. 

We saw on the news that there were emergency services up at Waikenae. Caro leaned forward. 

"I wonder if there's a BODY?" she asked.

Okay, maybe she IS a little ghoulish. 

S.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.