DiamondJack

By DiamondJack

Rest in Peace

On our walk we passed through a local churchyard. Quite by chance I noticed the grave of one of my first bosses when I left school. I worked in the office for the glass works which was run by Jeremy Burt. I had to greet customers in person and on the phone. Take orders and write invoices. I learnt more in the two years I was there than my last couple of years at school. Richard Burt, or Mister Richard as we had to call him ran the shop fitting side of the business. He was a bit of a playboy with his Reliant Scimitar and Disque Bleu cigarettes.
Mister Jeremy died quite young from cancer after I left and I don’t think the company lasted very long after that. I was always grateful to the company for a good start in my working life. There were some amazing characters there. RIP Richard.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.