Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

What to read

Hot weather means even more reading for me. I just finished The Secret Book of Flora Lea. I always enjoy this author’s books and Flora Lea was my kind of book. Set at the beginning of WW2 when two young girls are evacuated to the countryside. To help with the fear and worry the older sister tells Flora stories about a magical world. Then Flora disappears and is presumed drowned. Years later the older sister comes across a book written about her made up magical world. So the search is on to find her sister.

I just started the Greg Iles book which is a crime novel set in Natchez, Mississippi. I have read a few of his books in the past. The lawyer in this book is a repeat main character. This book was published in 2005 so it will be interesting to see how he portrays a southern city 20 years ago. Sometimes older books are better.


I also have four books on my Kindle. One started but slow going. And a paperback book that was on the free shelf at the library.

So many books, not enough hours in the day. Of course, after midnight reading happens sometimes as there is always “just one more chapter!”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.