Again and Again

By Ripitup

Travel, tempers and temperatures.

We had a midday checkout and I was torn between spending the morning in the sun as it would be the last I saw for a while or relaxing inside and not overheating.

As outside wasnt an option for MrRIU I opted for the cool and we ate a late (for me) breakfast before heading to the coolest communal space in the resort to check out and await our pick up.

That there are few public areas, across the resort, that are cooled is one of the 'gripes' I had with the resort.   MMRIU  declared, on several occasions this week,  that this will be the last all Inclusive, beach/pool holiday he takes.  He was suffering from the heat but I do wish he was able to adopt a 'cup half full' mindset more often. I could have chosen to grumble about preferring a different departure time but I enjoyed watching others work, wait, come and go into the space. These beautiful shades hung from the ceiling, there was some interesting art dotted about, a couple of digital info points, QR codes, comfy couches and two of the biggest portable AC units I've ever seen.

We chatted with some other guests who were awaiting a transfer and who shared our views that the resort,whilst undoubtedly beautiful, was not deserving of its 5* rating in a number of areas, particularly service and that we'd be unlikely returners.  It almost certainly keeps down the drinks bill to keep people waiting for such a long time to get a drink but a ten minute wait to get a small  glass of water is, for me, unacceptable. Yes, I could have travelled with a refillable flask but I've never experienced this before.

The transfer was quick and we joined another longish Q at the, thankfully cool, airport terminal where I chose, again, to observe the things around me.   I witnessed one couple delaying progress as they unpacked and disposed of items in their case to reduce the weight (& increase the wait), a man complaining very loudly to his group about having luggage to check in when he could have been the other side of security with a beer and cornish pasty instead,  then a woman, who I'd heard talking about being partway through a multi flighttrip, unpack her case and then get very angry with the checkin staff about timings, shouting that they would have to hold the plane as it was not her fault they didn't have enough staff on the desk to avoid her queuing.  I was surprised to see them running with her towards the gate.  If she'd spoken like that to me I'd have made sure she went nowhere fast.

After a 'discussion'with another passenger who told me to move as I was in his seat (I don't think so, please check your boarding pass again), I thought that I might have a spare seat next to me on the  flight but a passenger who had been seated in the exit row was.moved there as she was not too mobile and unable to assist in an emergency.  We had a wide ranging  chat including  the accident which had led to her needing a knee replacement, her work (hotel management), her husbands 40 plus years armed forces, their passport fail heading to Greece (his had expired due to issue date being more.than 10.years.ago) and the area where she lived.

It was, as expected, a vastly different climate when they opened the door of the plane; 37 degrees and sunshine to 13 and drizzle. 

We stopped for chips on the way home and I, unusually, opted for a warm shower before bed.

Added an extra of 'the rash'  to remind myself. It was,.very much, a 'feature' of this trip.
.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.