Melisseus

By Melisseus

Knocked Out

I'm 270 miles north of Oxfordshire, staying on a road called Physic Lane. Ironic then that too much of the evening was spent driving 20 minutes over the moors to the nearest town to box with the health system and access drugs to treat an ear infection that has flared up and become painful. Not ideal when I'm planning to be away from home for over a week and moving on each day

The NHS was its usual sclerotic, bureaucratic self but, in current circumstances, how miraculous that I was able to walk in after 6pm on a Saturday, with no appointment, see a nurse and a doctor, receive a prescription and can collect drugs at 11am tomorrow - a Sunday morning. I can barely believe my luck

For now, I'm dosed up with anti-inflamatory painkillers and hoping for some sleep before pressing on north tomorrow - where this view is pointing

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.