Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Sunday

The jittery stressy feelings persist - there’s not really anything I can do about it until contracts are safely exchanged, but it’s horrible to endure. One of my friends at church noticed that I was looking tired and upset, and suggested we go out for lunch. It was a very kind thing to do, as I needed company after a couple of days on my own with the pressures piling on and the monotony of more sorting. I’m so sick of it, and crave freedom from all the worry. Only those of you who have trodden the path of probate, and bought and sold property, will truly understand my misery. It’s such a millstone to carry. We went round a couple of local garden centres, and in my distracted mood I entirely forgot to take any photos to blip. This yellow David Austin rose is by the front door of the bungalow. Dad planted it in a terracotta trough there, but it never did much while he was alive. I deadhead it assiduously, and it rewards me with countless blooms twice during the summer months.

It’s Father’s Day today and although Dad’s been gone for nearly ten years now I still miss him very keenly. Mum and Dad were definitely my best friends, very much my kind of people. They are constantly in my thoughts and in my heart. Hopefully before too long life will improve from what it has been like since Mum died 18 months ago, but for me the best years have already gone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.